Advice and answers from the Regroup Mass Notification Team

General information:
There are three ways CSV files can get processed for both the entire network and individual groups- Normal, Active Roster, and Purge. To indicate which groups the users get put into during the import process, you can choose one or more group ID numbers. If you upload a file to the network and leave the Group ID column blank, the user will get added to the network, but not be attached to any groups except the default group. You can also upload CSV files to specific groups via the website, and the files will be processed according to the style you choose from the options below. 

To choose your processing style for the network, go to the network settings page:

Then click on Integration Settings and find your preferred CSV Processing Style:


To choose your processing style for each group, go to the Group Settings page: 

Scroll down to CSV / DATABASE INTEGRATION options.  


Normal Processing:

For both Group and Network, normal processing means that when a csv is uploaded, the system will automatically add users who are not already in the network or group to the network or group. For users already in the group, any additional contact data in the file will be appended to the user's existing data (such as additional email addresses and phone numbers), except for the below noted exception.

NOTE: If a database ID is present in the CSV, any data with the exception of the primary email will be replaced.

Static Group

The static group option is used to keep a group exactly the same when you are conducting a network level replace or purge. If set to static then the system will not touch that group's users.

Active Roster Processing 

Updates users, group and network count.

  • Active Roster processing at the Group level keeps only the users present in the CSV file in the group. Users not in the CSV will be removed from the group but kept in the network. 
  • Active Roster processing at the network level keeps only the users listed in the CSV file and puts them into the groups indicated in the file. It removes the users from all groups not listed in the CSV. Users not in the CSV will be removed from the network. 

Purge Processing Style

Updates users in groups and network and updates their contact information i.e. email, phone, name, etc.

  • Purge processing at the group level keeps only the users that are in the CSV in the group and replaces each user's contact information according to what is in the CSV. Any members not in the CSV will be removed from the group but kept in the network.
  • Purge processing at the network level keeps only the members listed for each group in the CSV file and replaces the contact information according to the file. The users not present in the CSV file that belong to other groups will be removed from the network. Users that are not in the CSV file you upload and do not belong to any group at the moment of the import will stay in the network.

Once you're done choosing your settings, click Save.

Did this answer your question?